July 20, 1997

Media Contacts: Kathi Ovnic, 404/727-9371 - covnic@emory.edu

Charles B. Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D., Reunette W. Harris Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Emory University School of Medicine, has been named the recipient of the 1997 Gerald L. Klerman Lifetime Research Award.

The award is given to a senior investigator with a lifetime contribution to the diagnosis and treatment of depressive and manic-depressive illnesses. The award was given to Dr. Nemeroff in May at the National Depressive and Manic-Depressive Association (DMDA) Scientific Advisory Board meeting, held during the annual meeting of the American Psychiatric Association in San Diego.

Dr. Nemeroff received his bachelor's degree from the City College of New York and enrolled in graduate school at Northeastern University. After graduating in 1973 with a master's degree in biology, he went on to receive his M.D./Ph.D. in neurobiology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Dr. Nemeroff's residency training was conducted at both the University of North Carolina and at Duke University, after which he joined the faculty of Duke University.

Dr. Nemeroff came to Emory in 1991 from Duke University Medical Center where he was the chief of the Division of Biological Psychiatry. He is well known for his work on the biological basis of major neuropsychiatric disorders such as affective disorders, Alzheimer's disease, schizophrenia and anxiety disorders. He brought to Emory several major research grants, including four from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and others from several foundations. He has published or has in press more than 500 research reports and has made several hundred scholarly presentations.

Dr. Nemeroff has been the recipient of many awards. Last year he received the American Psychiatric Association's Research Award and the Gold Medal Award from the Society of Biological Psychiatry. In 1993 he was the recipient of both the Edward J. Sachar Award from the Department of Psychiatry, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, and the coveted Edward A. Strecker Award from the Institute of Pennsylvania Hospitals.

Other awards include a MERIT award from the National Institute of Mental Health, the A. E. Bennett Neuropsychiatric Research Foundation Award in Basic Science from the Society of Biological Psychiatry, the Curt P. Richter Award from the International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology, the Jordi Folch-Pi Award from the American Society for Neurochemistry, the Anna Monika Foundation Award for Research in Depression, the Daniel H. Efron Award from the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology, and the Judith Silver Memorial Young Scientist Award from the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill.

Dr. Nemeroff currently is president of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology. He serves on the editorial boards of The American Journal of Psychiatry, Molecular Psychology, Synapse, Neurochemical Pathology, Psychopharmacology Bulletin, Journal of Gerontology, Regulatory Peptides and the Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences. He is co-Editor-in-Chief of Critical Reviews in Neurobiology and editor-in-chief of Depression and Anxiety. He is also co-editor of the APA Textbook of Psychopharmocology.

For more general information on The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, call Health Sciences News and Information at 404-727-5686, or send e-mail to hsnews@emory.edu.

Copyright ©Emory University, 1997. All Rights Reserved.
Send comments to whscweb@emory.edu